How to get good exposure and get a good final print?

Vishnu123

Hello, I am new to photography. I enrolled in introduction to photographic medium class. I thought it would be easier but there are a few things that frustrate me about having a good exposure and making final prints. To begin with, how can I assure that the exposure is right to make the print? Is there any particular suggestions to make it easier? Is there any rule to find out the aperture stop and how much time to expose the film sheet?

If you have any tips or suggestions on how to make final prints perfect please let me know!

I would really appreciate any kind of help...

Thank you.

Moderator Note: Vishnu123, you asked the same question in two different Forums, please do not do that, it contravenes Site Rules.

The two threads have been merged into this one.

William

Edited by William Michael

Are you talking about camera exposure or enlarger exposure ? In the long run, the only way to get perfect prints is experience and practice.

This book may help :

Ilford Monochrome Darkroom Practice: A Manual of Black and White Processing and Printing

ISBN: 0240513681

Title: Ilford Monochrome Darkroom Practice: A Manual of Black and White Processing and Printing

Edited by Tony Parsons

From your words 'film sheet', I assume you're shooting film rather than digital. I'll leave it to my analogue friends to advise on camera settings, development techniques, etc. One thing you might want to consider is post-processing scanned images. It's nowhere near as good as getting things in the camera and in development but it might help salvage a few photos.

Mike

• Like 1

We are talking a delicate balance between correct film exposure, correct film developing, correct exposure on the photo enlarger, and correct processing of the exposed print. All this, a tall order, with a steep learning curve, but you can do this.