acclaimed dodging/burning book, video, or online tutorial? I simply

want to be doing it like the pros so I don't waste any time teaching

myself the wrong way.

Of course, I realize that the pros photo itself was most likely

great to begin with, but I'm just unsure as to the correct process

of it all.

I have little experience with it in PS and the results I've had with

it give skin tones a very inaccurate color. I've been using a

multiple layers technique instead and have had much better results.

I've heard that this method is actually better because dodging

actually destroys pixels (who knows if that's true). I have noticed

though that using levels and layers along with the eraser tool have

looked more natural on the skin tones and color in general.

<i>I've been using a multiple layers technique instead and have had much better results. I've heard that this method is actually better because dodging actually destroys pixels (who knows if that's true). I have noticed though that using levels and layers along with the eraser tool have looked more natural on the skin tones and color in general.</i>

<p>

Then why would you deal with dodging and burning? If Ansel Adams had adjustment layers, he'd have used them.

<p>

DI

Here's one technique...make a blank layer above your image layer, change the blending mode to overlay. using your default black foreground color with a soft brush, paint over what you want to burn in. Using white will have the effect of dodging. The presure and opacity of the brush can be adjusted as well as the transparency of the layer. Experiment with other blending modes as well. I also usually do not flatten the layers, and like to work on a duplicate of the original.

Here's a method I learned at an Epson seminar.<P>

From the menu, select Layer > New > Layer... <BR>

A dialog box will open. Select Mode > Overlay<BR>

Check the box 'Fill with overlay-neutral color'<P>