How to diffuse natural light

ay_khan

<p>Hi!<br>

I am a student of photography and I have a practice newborn session coming up. I use a large window and a golden reflector to bounce the light but during mid afternoon it gives very dark highlighted shadows. Can anyone help me with how to diffuse the light, if there are any camera settings that I can do to eliminate those highlighted shadows? If I use a fabric than what kind a fabric would be best? Is there an equipment specifically designed to diffuse the light under natural light or near a window. Please help me, I have a session in a few days and I am very very nervous.<br>

thanks!</p>

<p>Lots of options:<br>

1. Some reflectors (like a 5-in-1) will have a scrim included that you can use to diffuse light.<br>

2. You can not shoot with direct natural light but between a giant piece of poster board and your reflector, bounce the light off walls or your reflectors and on to your subject.<br>

3. A light cloth (a sheet is probably too thick but as others have pointed out, stuff like silk, even a plastic painting tarp available at Home Depot for $5 will work just fine). Experiment with different cloth.<br>

4. And if that's still too dark, than bounce a speed light off the ceiling to add a bit of fill and soften the edges of the shadows.</p>