How to develop 120 B&W film?

tony_castro

I have purchase a Mamiya m645, and have shot my first roll. Would

someone tell me what are the steps to develop this film? I have the

manual and parts file if anyone needs it. I am a beginner in the MF

arena, and the film is different(how it's package).

Thank you for your help.

Tony Castro

The process is very similiar to developing 35mm film. For 120 film, you just need to break the seal and detach the film from the backing paper. The film is usually taped onto the backing paper and the tape can be easily located. If you are not sure about how to do it, waste one roll of 120 and try that under normal daylight. If you use the generic steel reel with a "tongue" clip, the process is exactly the same as 35mm. However, if you use a Hewes 120 reel, be sure to load the film at the other side of the "tongue clip instead of jamming the film at the side of the tongue. In anycase, be gentle during the loading. The film is wider and consequently feels softer. It is easier to leave marks on the film if you try to force the film in. For plastic reel, simply set the reel to the right size and you are ready to load.

Tony

120 film is harder to load than 35mm onto the reel. It may take practice and I would recommend a tank with some sort of guide onto the reel if you are buying one (the best might be a good subject for a forum!!).

Little half moons from kinks in the film are annoying and come from the difficulty of keeping the wide film flat on loading.

I would start with a standard developer and follow the manufacturer's recommendations (make sure you use times for 120 film). You don't say what film, but it will have details with it on processing.

Don't worry about fancy formulae and adjustments yet. I would recommend starting with 'average' subjects in terms of contrast in particular until you are familiar.

Then there is the issue of making prints!

>>Little half moons from kinks in the film are annoying <<