How to Change the Lens Safely Outdoors

carmen_m

I'm new to the DSLR world but I already have 2 lenses, the kit lens and the 50mm

1.4 but I find myself shooting with the 50mm one most of the time because I'm

afraid that by changing the lens I risk letting dust in the camera, etc.

Can anyone give me some good practice tips on how to change the lens outdoors to

minimize the risk of something going wrong (dropping it, having wind blow in

dust, etc) especially when you need to change them fast.

Thanks

Switch it off (charged sensor could attract more dust)

Stand with back to wind/spray

Have 2nd lens ready to attach (ie. rear cap removed)

Point camera body down

Remove and replace

THat's how I do i anyway. Of course, if you can find proper shelter (ie. indoors) to do changes that's even better!

I never switch the camera off when changing lenses and I don't believe that doing so makes any significant difference to the dust issue, it just makes the lens changing process slower.

Keep the camera body round your neck, then you can't possibly drop it. I hold the camera body in my left hand with my thumb on the accessory shoe and my fingers under the base of the camera, which gives a very secure grip, and I change the lens over the camera bag, so that if I were unfortunate enough to lose my grip on the lens, no damage would be done. Take the obvious precautions mentioned by Simon. Enjoy!

Dust falls down, not up.

I try to sit first, then work inside the bag using the lid as a wind shield.

Take off the lens, then lower the camera to seal the lens mount while you are picking up the next lens.

If conditions are really bad, work inside a clear plastic bag.

All this necessary? No but I don`t want the sensor dirty which is why I went with a nice 18/70 zoom that will do most of my work. I suppose I could clean it.

There is a specific sequence I go through that I learned from Galen Rowell: