how to achieve such lighting?

pawel_baranski

Hello!

I'm a fashion photographer and I would like to completely change my style. I'd like to start shooting in aesthetic similar to this hart leshkina - Google Search

But I'm not sure how to achieve such lighting. It basically looks like natural light, but it's shoot mostly indoors so strobes must be included.

How to achieve such soft lighting?

To be more specific, lighting on those two images is what I want to replicate: (MOD: Images removed. Do not upload photos you did not take)

The first one have some harsness in it, and the second one is more dull.

Do you have any advice for me? :D

Edited by Spearhead

Flat shadowless large single powerful source eg softbox with almost no modeling at a;;. Likely a big box on a stand with a long boom arm over the model. For some of the posing a strong mood altering potion might even help ( just teasing). I think a style should be adaptable to the clothes and not too inflexible, my gut feeling. No offense intended. Meaning experiment is always good. And a playful attitude helps. aloha.

These images may be deleted because PN terms of agreement state that only photos you've taken should be posted and not photos taken by someone else.

In any case you got some good answers. And I agree with Gerry. My question would be why you’d want to completely change your own aesthetic based on what someone else is doing instead of adding this aesthetic as part of your aesthetic. While this approach works in certain contexts, I’d get really bored of it quickly if there were nothing to offset it. It’s problematic, IMO, for a style to become a goal in itself, absent consideration of the subject matter it’s supporting. I prefer when style is attached for particular expressive reasons, meaning not all fashion and not all models and not all situations would work well in this style.

• Like 1
We didn't need dialogue. We had faces!