how to achieve a certain look

<p>Although I have been using photoshop for several years, im by NO means a ps guru. So bear with me.<br>

There was some images posted on the net of a Russian woman who would photograph her children and their pets. There were some photos of a small child and what I believe was a St Bernard. The look of these particular photos to me were just simply amazing.<br>

Sure there was the use of limited dof and such, and even lighting - but the <em>look</em> of the resulting images with what i assume came from photoshop or lightroom processing </p>

<p>I hope the link works but just in case, im referring to photo 2/23:</p>

<p><a href="http://www.boredpanda.com/animal-children-photography-elena-shumilova/?image_id=animal-children-photography-elena-shumilova-1.jpg">Link</a><br>

<br />Anyone here know how i can achieve this look? Simple jaw dropping for me personally. Possibly a purchased plugin or action was used?<br>

<br /><em>Any</em> help would be <em>greatly</em> appreciated.</p>

<p>Derek</p>

<p>I'm just guessing, having looked at some of her other photos in the set as well, that she used a relatively high shutter speed to freeze motion and allow a wide open aperture, while still underexposing, and blurring the background. Th hoghlight the subjects, I think she used a well diffused flash high above the subjects (little or no shadows to the sides or back of them), but positioned so that they were properly exposed. In any case, a very nice set of photos, done by an accomplished photographer.</p>

<p>There's no setting on the camera to do that. She used supplemental lights and a number of post-processing techniques to get there. She's very good. None of those are right out of the camera.</p>

<p>She does use a lot of backlighting (both natural and artificial). If there isn't fog (which there seems to be a lot of) she'll have the kids throw some dust to add to the backlight effect.</p>