How often do you update your gear?

alwin_lai

<p>I know lens have a long shelf life especially the high quality ones. However camera mfg seems to always come up with new models rapidly.<br>

TBH, I've been using my EOS 30d since 2006. Preferring to invest in lenses instead. Well these days this reliable camera is considered old. Heck, I have some clients sporting newer dSLR than me. Hahahah... I know most photo-work is really skill based. While my 30D has been fine and still churns out pleasing shots (enough to make money at least), I wonder if it is time to change. From a needs perspective, no. But from a service offering, one would think one should have a updated gear than their clients huh? I don't know.<br>

Just wondering how often do you guys update your camera bodies?</p>

<p>It doesn't matter that you can "outgear" your clients (or other photographers) only that you can "outshoot" and "outproduce" in terms of the quality of the photos, products, and experience. Invest in the best tools you can afford, maintain them well, and only buy / replace if the gear can pay for itself within a few months. That's my rule :)</p>

only when necessary. . . it depends on how you treat your gear and how much use it gets. . . I spend too

much on gear every year. . . mostly due to breakage and worn out . . . Right now, the video thing is really

hot, but it's not yet where i need it to be for an upgrade. . . as for lenses, i upgrade the long stuff as soon

as a new one comes out . . .

A lot of people say they invest in lenses. I've not seen a lens produced by canon in the past 10 years that

one would call an investment. . . It's a tool and therefore it's an expense . . . I have never seen anyone get

more for a modern lens they they buy it for -

<p>Eric has put it very nicely. I would only add<br>

"<em>and</em> when I can find the cash to do so"</p>