how noisy is the D700 vs. the D3s?

Discussion in 'Nikon' started by paul_cohn, Apr 5, 2010.

1. If anyone can share their real-life experience with this, I'd appreciate it:
    I have a D300 and like to do a lot of low-light shooting without flash. It may be zoomed or wide-angle, it all depends on what I come across ... I'm not a professional, but I'd eventually like to do freelance work so I want a professional quality image when all's said and done.
    To my eye, anything shot above ISO 800 on the D300 is too noisy so I don't go above it unless I'm desperate. I use noise reduction s/w in post-production (but I don't want to go into the relative merits of various s/w solutions here), but if the light is low, and I'm trying to shoot anything slower than 1/15 or 1/20 second at f2.8, I invariably get camera shake since I never remember to carry a tripod, and it's just easier to work handheld in crowded situations anyway.
    I'm drooling over the idea of a D3s with its ISO 102,500 capability, but it's pricey; if the D700 (or a used D3) can give me good noise control up to ISO 6400 or 12,800, that's probably good enough for me. The question is "if". How high an ISO can you use on the D700/D3 to and have a (reasonably) noise-free image? Is the D3s worth the premium over a D3 in that regard?
    Thanks!

2. How large do you print? The "reasonably noise free" issue depends entirely on how the image will be seen.

3. ShunCheung

ShunCheung Administrator

4. With your D300, you can get an idea here: dxomark. Check the SNR 18% chart; the D3S has an SNR advantage of more than two stops over the D300, at any ISO.

5. "I'm trying to shoot anything slower than 1/15 or 1/20 second at f2.8"
    at those shutter speeds, sounds like camera shake could be as big an issue as noise. before popping 5 grand for a d3s (+ much more for additional lenses), i'd consider adding a tamron 17-50 VC to your kit for considerably less.