How much should I charge for a children's birthday party?

melissa_carr

Hello,

I received a photography gig photographying a child's birthday

party. The client wants to try me out and the job could lead to a

permeneant position. I am a photography student and I'm just

beginning in event photography. What would be a reasanable price to

charge for the test? and for subsquent parties? The function is an

hour and a half. I have estimated that I will probably use 2-3

rolls of film (each at $5 for Kodak Portrait), and development and

printing is another $12. So, I rounded supplies off to $50. Would

$250 be a reasonable price to charge for the test? Am I selling

myself short, or is that too much as an intial fee? What should I

charge in the future. Thank You...I would appreciate any

information.

IMO

1. You are figuring film literally by the penny, what about gas to get to the film store and gas to and from the lab and your time. If you are going to figure the costs of materials you need to add in the cost of the expenses for you to go back and forth for the materials.

2. Always be weary of clients that promise you this or that if you work out, like permenant positions, referrals, etc...Believe it when you see it.

3. I view each job and price accordingly and have no absolute "set" prices...but that is the way I like to do it. Each job has its own set of factors and since I do not do jobs for an "hourly" my prices are determined by all the variables regarding the job.

In this case I do think that $250 is reasonable and I would not call it a "test." Usually "test" shoots are for free and you are indicating here that you are going to charge...You might as well call it a job.