How much one charges for creating a Photo Book

melissa_b.p

<p>Hello,</p>

<p>I'm very new to this process and after extensive research on the internet, as well as reaching out to a photography friend, I still don't have answers so hopefully you can help. It looks as though I have my first Photo Book request. Is there a set formula to consider when billing someone? So in other words, at 17.5" x 12", it's $20 a page, at 10" x 10", it's $10 a page, etc. plus the cost of buying the actual album? I tried to consider my time as a designer (which is a service I do aside from photography) but the cost was very unreasonable and unaffordable, so I'm hoping that there is some 'magic' formula that makes it so that the client has a reasonably affordable book and I'm not taking a huge loss in the process...</p>

<p>Also, for an 80 page album, what's the typical number of pictures you would ask a client to select? similarly, what would it be for a 40 page album?</p>

<p>Thanks in advance for any input on this!</p>

<p>My general rule of thumb is to multiply the cost of the book or album 3-4 times, then add in $300 for design and retouching time. Most album printers have prices online for 10 spreads (two pages facing reach other) with cover for x$. You can then go from there. My general suggestion is to keep it simple. There are literally hundreds of choices out there between sizes, papers, covers, etc. We tell clients that we've done the research for them, and that "this one" is our most popular. It should fall in the middle of three choices you offer, but price accordingly so they see your most popular album as the best value.</p>