how much is the best amount of AEB

I have tried several different setting on AEB.

Pure question for YOU. What is YOUR opinion of the amount of offset of F stop that seems to work best for YOU? I

shoot raw with the REBEL, but when using the XTI I use JPG because of excessive noise with the XTI. So the

question then becomes which works best with BOTH modes RAW and JPG? I don't use AEB generally, but when shooting

images I may not be able to repeat at least soon, I do use AEB. Give me your best results, maybe different rates

for shadows and backlighting etc.

Thanks.

My 20D and 40D both seem to like about +1/3 or +2/3 for "normal" scenes to get a good ETTR histogram. I generally leave both cameras at +1/3 by default.

I use other amounts depending on the subject and lighting. In unusual cases I'll shoot a couple of tests to get the best value for the situation (actually, that's pretty much what I do all the time).

I'm no expert. But, I think you said it best: <b><i>What is YOUR opinion of the amount of offset of F stop that

seems <u>to work best for YOU</u>?</i></b>. I usually start out small: +/- 1/2 stop (5D). Then

increase/decrease it until the image is to my liking.

I leave my metering at minus 1/3 stop most of the time. It depends on what you're shooting, Especially for dark interior or near-dusk shots, a little underexposure makes the scene closer to my perception. I find if left centered the scenes tend to come out brighter than expected. Also, using Photoshop's ACR I find raising levels easier than recovering blown highlights.

I am confused by some of the answers.

I understand the question to be about AEB (Auto Exposure Bracketing).

When I use AEB, I set the AEB to: minus 1/3 and plus 1/3 stop.

I set the Drive Mode: Continuous

I then shoot a manual bracket of plus 1 stop / minus 1 stop.

The result is a total bracket of nine exposures, in thirds.

WW