How many photos to give the bride and groom?

brooke_oftedahl

<p>I just recently completed my first 2 weddings, and now begins the process of editing the photos. I took approx 1,200 pictures at each wedding, and i told both sets of bride/grooms that i didn't know how many i would end up giving them, as i'm new to weddings. I want to give them a fair amount of edited photos so they feel like they got their moneys worth, however i think too many will just be overwhelming.<br>

How many do most photographers give? I was thinking i would aim for 300 edited photos, period. That includes all the formals and misc reception pictures of people dancing etc. I will be giving them a disc of their photos and maybe enlarge & frame my favorite as a gift.<br>

Any feedback would be great! Thanks! :)</p>

<p>you give the amount that's needed to tell the story... some do it in 50, others 500... only you can decide how many pics do you need. to give out X amount just because the rest are doing it too... well.. that's just kinda dumb.</p>

<p>I average between about 75 and 150 to tell the story. That said, I average about 10 rolls of film, so that 360 photos and about another 200 on the digital side.....so about 550 total photographs on average. I used to do 750-1250 and found the workflow slow and painful. So I clcik the shutter less, and only when it's an image that maters.</p>

<p>We usually average 50% of what we shoot, which is rarely over 400 to 500 selects for a full day from two shooters (I'd like to get that closer to 300). Less for a shorter span of time. However, it really depends on what happens at any given wedding. Some have all kinds of stuff going on, others are more laid back.</p>

<p>Of that, I select 90 to 100 for a slide show, and out of those, maybe 40 to 90 for the album depending on which album type and size was selected ... if at all. </p>