How many photos is too many?

robert_reason

<p>I'm a new photographer and I'm starting to see that I edit a lot of photos. So far I 've done numerous family, engagement, and maternity photo sessions. I've only done one wedding. With the wedding, I ended up with 496 edited photos that I gave to my client. For the other shoots, I average 20-30 edited photos that I give my clients. I don't charge for packages. I simply pick the best photos I take, edit them and give them to the client on a thumb drive. If they want prints or albums, I charge accordingly. The problem is, I spend so much time sifting through photos to pick out the good ones and then I take more time to edit. Is their a set amount of photos I should be providing or some sort of scale i should be using to figure out how many is enough? Whats the norm? Would a client be satisfied with 5-10 photos or is that too little? Thank you in advance for any helpful suggestions.</p>

<p>In the film days 10 edited shots delivered for a portrait shoot was pretty normal. Today with digital the number can be from 20 to 100 and up. It all depends what the goal of the shoot is and what the clients expectations are. It is up to you to communicate that. Weddings are certainly going to have a much higher count. I can not give you advice on how to charge other than the fact you should charge something and not give files away. No one orders prints or albums much these days. So if this is all practice then it really doesn't matter. You will know how much is too much time for you to be working on the computer with no payment.</p>

<p>Opinions vary.</p>

<p>I recall one top photographer (jeff Ascough) who printed 4X6 samples to demonstrate to clients how many 200 keepers was when the client showed concern about number of delivered images. He would throw them out on the floor.</p>

<p>Conversely, I've read here on this site where some deliver in the thousands. </p>