How many keepers do you get out of all the photos you take

<p>As a young film photographer I used to read about National Geographic photographers using 400 rolls of film on assignment in order to get the 3 photos appearing in an article. Friends and I used to remark that any person can take 400 rolls of film and get 3 great shots! We were jealous that we could only afford 1 roll a week and so had to try as hard as we could to get a few great shots on each roll. So for people like us, DSLR are a godsend. I wonder how many photos the NG photographers take now to get their 3 or 4 National Geographic published photos.<br>

Even today I try to not take so many photos but rather to take good photos with the ones I take. So, if you were to go on a one day outing anywhere and you may sell and/or keep some of the photos you take, how many photos would you normally take, and how many "keepers" are you hoping to get out of that?</p>

<blockquote>

<p>Friends and I used to remark that any person can take 400 rolls of film and get 3 great shots!</p>

</blockquote>

<p>I don't buy that premise or the 400 roll ratio story,sorry. A keeper likely meant one selected by a photo editor for publication out of the lot submitted. Same goes for many of us..film still was cheaper than time and effort and opportunity cost. Never did the stats or was too darn rich:-)</p>

<p>The problem with statements like that, 400 rolls for 3 images, is that it totally misses the point. The point being that the magazine may only have room for 3 images. The great part for the photographer is that the magazine pays for shooting all of it, usually at a rate that makes the photographer a handsome sum per roll, and they can sell the other images to whoever they wish! ( I would have made about $6000 profit or so if I shot that many rolls in addition to my creative fee!)</p>