How important is editing to a shot?

<p>I have absolutely fallen in love with my new Nikon and cannot wait to learn more about it.</p>

<p>but I do have a question to pose which might seem silly but as I have now been shooting for 5 or 6 days I find this to be a very feasible question to ask.</p>

<p>I am a hobbyist, and will not label myself as anything but until I am happy with my understanding of my camera and equipment. I don't know what RAW even means as of yet as I am still waiting on books such as Understanding Exposure, Digital Photography and the like to show up from Amazon</p>

<p>But I pour through the galleries here and on numerous forums and I need to know, how much of some of the shots taken are the camera and how much is done via editing.</p>

<p>Some shots seem almost surreal and hard to believe could be done with a camera no matter how advanced.</p>

<p>So I have to ask, while getting the perfect shot is important, how much weight is put into editing it via photoshop or editing programs to make a good shot into an absolutely great shot? I have what I think are some good shots for an absolute amateur but I know I could touch them up and make them shine.</p>

<p>And at what stage of development should I look into one. I am thinking about a year from now when I have a base portfolio of about 1000+ shots saved to go over and edit. </p>

<p>Your thoughts on the importance of editing as opposed to just being happy with the shot</p><div>00bsis-541715984.thumb.jpg.a503b90854aa09337ab1f695a53ac7a0.jpg</div>

• Replies 157
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

<p>Much depends on a photographer. Some feel that 50% is done in the camera and rest in the edit, tho there are those who only do minor adjustments in the edit. Lots depends on your editing skills and tools that you have at hand.</p>