How do you know if you have innate ability for photography?

<p>Hi everyone,<br>

I am a new user to photo.net. I have little photography experience, and really only do cell phone photography. So I am a beginner. However, I'm not trying to brag, but I think some of my photos are not bad. I feel that I do "have an eye" for what is beautiful, special, unique, but is that enough? How do you know if you have innate talent for photography? (I mean artistic ability completely independent of equipment.) How does a person know if they actually are talented?<br>

Thank you...!</p>

• Replies 129
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

<p>I believe that actual talent comes from combining an innate eye with solid technique. If you learn lighting, exposure, production, etc ... and find that your images continue to improve as these tools are incorporated into your arsenal, you are on the way to excellence.</p>

<p>Elsa, in my opinion, the concept of an innate ability is philosophically problematic and this is not the venue for discussing it. In that regard, try posting a thread on the Philosophy of Photography forum. </p>

<p>Your better bet at this stage of your photographic journey is to post your work for critique. Hopefully, your images will draw constructive comments from which you can learn.</p>

<p>The evidence is in the photos.</p>

<p>Ask creative folks in other arts - anyone with an eye and appreciation for visual arts. And don't only ask photographers whether you have potential. Photographers - not all, but a significant and vocal demographic - tend to be hidebound, stiffnecked, rigid about technicalities, rules and what is or isn't "real" photography, and more obsessed with equipment and materials than any other creative types (although musicians are a pretty close second). Take their advice with a dose of salts.</p>