How do you get the most out of a dual format kit, or do you stick to one sensor size?

ianivey

<p>When I started shooting weddings, I used a D300 (a crop-frame camera body). Later, I began renting a D700 body for weddings, and using my D300 as a second body (now I own a D3 and a D300, and similarly carry them together).</p>

<p>I can't put my finger on what's irritating me about this setup, and I wonder whether I'm missing a key ingredient that would make this combination fun to drive. Under most circumstances, <strong>when I have the FF body as well, I don't like using the crop-frame body</strong> except when I absolutely must -- so it sort of becomes my lens holder and back-up body of last resort. A belt-mounted lens bag would be lighter and almost as useful. </p>

<p>I'm pretty sure part of my hang-up is the better low-light performance of the D700/D3 as compared to the D300, but I don't think that difference completely explains my aversion to using my D300. Perhaps part of the problem is that different sensor sizes (and slightly different control setups) require more attention. Whatever it is, I find myself wanting another FF body and thinking mean thoughts at my D300, which really is an excellent piece of equipment on its own. </p>

<p>To weddings, I usually bring a 14-24, 24-70, and 70-200 f/2.8 set, plus a 50mm f/1.4. I've also borrowed a friend's Tamron 17-50 f/2.8 for the D300 a few times, which certainly improved the feel of that body as compared to using the 24-70 on it, but still didn't compel me to use it instead of the FF with the 24-70.</p>

<p>So I'd like to hear what you do -- whether you use two FF bodies, one CF and one FF, or two CF bodies. I know WW likes the dual format kit, but I couldn't quite find a thread in which he describes his approach and why he values it (just a couple threads in which he alludes to it - so WW, if you see this, feel free to incorporate prior comments by reference link, if you don't feel like elaborating).</p>