How do you get a solid black background

alicia macfarland

Hi,

I'm new to setting up a studio in my basement and want to achieve total black

background. I have two speedotron lights (1200 W/S power supply) with two

umbrellas, one silver and one white, using a Canon 10D. So now, I am trying

to figure out how to set this all up. I have black paper background. I tried

using the two lights approx at different angles from subject 4 feet away from

background, but it's still turning out a varied color of grey-black depending on

the light that's hitting it. Do the lights need to be further in front of my

subject? I do not yet have a light meter, but if this will likely be getting one

soon.

Thanks!

Light falls off with the square of the distance. What this means for your case is, you want to get the lights as close as possible to your subject, and have your subject as far as possible from the background. The larger the ratio between lights-to-background-distance and lights-to-subject-distance, the less light (relatively) will fall on your background.

Also, umbrellas tend to throw light all over the place, so you're going to see a bit more light spill on the background using them over, say, a smaller softbox.

Greg

http://www.gregrphoto.com

try this... 1 of 3 ways... the simple way... back your subject and lights up about 2x's as far away from your background than you are now... that should decrease the amount of light reaching your bg down to 25% of the previous amount!