How do you choose your aperture value?

eolaystwyth

Hi. I'm quite new to digital photography. I wanted to ask you guys how do you choose the aperture setting for any distance, be it landscape or a close subject. I've read about the 'exposure triangle' and how a larger or smaller aperture affects either or both ISO sensitivity and shutter speed. I'm also aware of how a different aperture value can provide deeper/shallower depth of field. Still, I'm curious as to what are the variables other photographers take into consideration, in order to choose a particular F-number, either for landscape, medium or close distance. Thanks!

I don't think there is a set answer, it all depends on the circumstances, I'm afraid. As you have realised, the aperture affects more than the exposure, and of course the shutter speed is important to avoid camera shake, except when using a tripod. What you could try doing is setting up a situation (or preferably several), and changing the aperture for each shot, then when you look on your monitor it should be apparent which gives the most pleasing result each time - and of course the exposure info is encoded in the EXIF file for reference.
  • Like 3

I select my aperture based on the depth of field I want in the photo.

This could be directly, observing the changes in the viewfinder, most likely with a still subject such as a landscape, macro or a posed portrait.

Or it could be based on experience, for more fluid shooting situations, I know that f4 (for example) will give me the depth of field I need, so I'll just 'set and forget' altering it only for specific shots where I want a different result. Street and social (parties, weddings) would be good examples of this.

Or the aperture could be determined by the need to use hyperfocal focusing techniques.

Or I could be shooting in very low light, so it needs to be wide open.

With modern cameras, I rarely find myself needing to stop down in bright light to avoid running out of shutter speeds.