how do i convert ppi to dpi for professional printer?

Hello, I'm new to Photo.net.

Is there a conversion for ppi to dpi?

The printer I am sending my project to

has requested "we recommend 100 dpi at full size"

for my image resolution.

If they are printing, isn't 100 dpi going to be

quite grainy? And, in photoshop, I don't see an option

to ensure that my photo is a certain dpi.

Obviously I can control the ppi, but I don't know

how to make sure my image is 100 dpi for the printer...

anyone know how to do this? thanks so much!

According that you are printing in a news paper like, and the printer ask you for the

correct word, DPI is Dot Per Inch, PPI is Pixel Per Inch. Theres is no < conversion > to

make. It is very important to make sure that when you talk to people you mean, both of

you, the same things. Now if you want to know how many PPI you need to get 100 DPI, its

pretty simple; take the number the printer give you and multiply it by 2 (if you are a

paranoi kind of guy) or 1.5 is way OK. So he need 100 x 2 = 200 PPI. The reverse is simple

to, assuming that when people ask you for a 300 PPI file, that should mean they print at

around (300 /2) 133 or 150.

And yes if they are asking you for a 100 dpi, meaning 100 ppi in there head, yes it will be

pretty noisy or maybe they printing on a large format inkjet and they think that 100 is

enough. have fun: )

When printing with an inkjet printer it's best to use an image that's sized to 300ppi, give or take a little. For example (using 300ppi), if you have an image that is 2400 pixels by 3000 pixels, you will get an 8" x 10" print (2400/300 x 3000/300). Dots per inch should really refer to what the printer is laying down in ink dots and has really nothing to do with ppi. Whatever your printer means, it doesn't sound like you would get a very good print out of it.

I'm not really sure what Patrick is talking about, either! ;)

Dear Marz, welcome to Photo.net.