How do I break into wedding photography?

neinlives

Here's the rundown:

I'm 23, a senior in college, a salaried web developer, and have ambitions to

start my own design/photography business.

Problem:

I am a pretty decent web developer but lack the photographic experience to

really stab out as a professional photographer in any capacity. I have a very

real interest in becoming involved in wedding photography but have no clue of

how to break in. I realize that I shouldn't even bother shooting a wedding if he

doesn't know what the h*ll I'm doing, but how will I ever know what I'm doing if

I don't get a start? I want to stress this again: I'm not looking to just jump

in and mess up someone's memories, so, again, I want to be highly prepared.

What steps can I take now to get up and running over the next, say, six months

to a year? Is this an unreasonable timeline? What kind of equipment will I need?

Here's what I have so far:

- 1) Nikon D80

- 1) 50mm f/1.8 Nikkor lens

Here's what I'd like to add:

- 1) Nikon D200 (or possibly just another D80, because I hear it is just as good

as the D200)

- 1) 10.5mm f/2.8G ED AF DX Fisheye-Nikkor

- 1) 12-24mm f/4G ED-IF AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor

- 1) 70-200mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor

And possibly:

- 1) 17-55mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor

I realize that I will require other equipment, as well, (e.g, flashes, etc.),

but I'm not sure just what. Any help you could offer would be greatly appreciated.

I would contact some local wedding photographers and see if they need an assistant to help with some weddings. Craig's list is a good place to check. Some fast zooms such as the 17-55 f2.8 and the 80-200 f2.8 would be usefull. If you prefer primes then I would get a second body and keep a 35 f2.0 on one and your 50mm f1.8 on the other. Get a 20mm f2.8 and an 85mm f1.8. You will need a flash bracket and an SB-600 or SB-800.