How different from B&W is it to process and develop pictures with color?

kelsey_lunn

<p>I am new to film photography and am starting to really get into it. I have only purchased B&W film so far for my class but I was wondering if I got a different kind of film for color if I can process it the same way? I love both B&W and color pictures and would love to try color. If I got the film, can I develop and process my pictures the same way as I do B&W now?</p>

<p>The film and processing are quite different. Whereas black & white involves forming images with silver halides, color involves multiple layers each with different dyes. The process includes bleaching (often combined with fixing) before the final rinse. Temperature control is more critical and the chemical don't keep well so they need to be used more quickly than black & white. Not trying to make it sound like a hassle to do, but it is more involved. Good news is that most black & white darkrooms will work fine as long as you have precise temperature control. Printing color is another story. No safelight can be used since color paper is sensitive to all colors. Instead of a tray you will need a processing drum and a set of color filters. Generally you make test prints and vary the filtration to get the color right in the final print. Some photographers take the hybrid workflow for color: develop color negatives and then scan. From the scans make prints with a good ink jet printer. Less expensive than real photo paper, but can still get expensive.</p>

<p>The process isn't that much different, but you have to be more careful with the time and temperature.<br>

The usual system is to start pouring each into the tank the appropriate time since you started pouring the one before.<br>

Also, C41 is at 100F (37.8C). In the winter, my darkroom is about 65F (19C) and it is hard to keep the chemicals warm enough. </p>

-- glen