How clear should my negatives be? HP5+ in Rodinal

Hi,

A potential fixer issue;

HP5+ shot @1600 and developed in Rodinal (semi-stand). I'm new to this combo. Films get developed without problems but my negatives come out slightly fogged even after very thorough fixing.

The fixer comes from an older opened container but tested ok before use.

In the photos you can see that the base is almost clear but still shows fog.

I have ruled out film storage issues.

Is the fixer done or is this what it's supposed to look like with this film/developer? It's the same film clip in both images attached;)

Regards

Otto20220106_154628.thumb.jpg.ef84f3e6395482aced1d649327049607.jpg 20220106_154603.thumb.jpg.b6859f299be1afc9653a4949e7104d9a.jpg

These negative appear too dark (fogged) to me or perhaps over developed. A proper developer solution has an additive called a “restrainer” that mitigates chemical fog. Your negatives will print up OK provided the fog is uniform.

As to the fix, you can easily test the fix. In the light, dip a snip of film in the fix and swish it about. The film enters the film opaque and after a few minutes, becomes milky and then transparent. Time this reaction (time to clear). The safe fix time is double the clear time.

I can’t speak for this film but many 35mm films have a noticeably gray base tint. This tint is not present on wide roll counterpart films. This base tint is intentionally added to 35mm film to reduce light piping. Not seen on rolls with paper backing with its flat black backing.

We are talking about unwanted exposure due to light transmission contained by the interfaces, base, emulsion, topcoat etc. This action is similar to the action of fiber optics. Light piping will fog film at the edges due to exposure to light during loading and unloading.