How can I sync my monitor with what I see on paper?

c_k17

<p>I have a tough time getting pictures to print close to what I see on screen. The pictures look awesome on the computer monitor and on the camera LCD but on paper they tend to look flat. In add, I have to many variations, like some pics look somewhat ok on the paper, and some look dark and slightly off tone, yet all of the pictures look fine on the computer and camera LCD. How can I improve this?</p>

<p>I'm no expert but I read talk of having your monitor calibrated.<br>

I do some graphic's work on my computer's and have always been fortunate enough to have a good monitor.<br>

I also have had Window's Media Center as part of my operating system on my last two computers which probably helps.</p>

<p>My first try would be another printer or a print service (make sure it does not "optimize" the pictures, and that your images have a color space, which the service understands, usually sRGB). You might get the very same results however. If not, your printing program needs a profile of your printer (try another printing program, or play with the print settings). If the result is the same, you need to calibrate your monitor. You can try by hand in the monitor settings using your prints as a guide line (difficult and vague). Windows 7 can also generate a monitor profile (search for calibration in the system settings). Or you can use the program that controls your graphics card. But you will most likely come to the conclusion that you need one of those hardware calibration tools (about 80$). The more expensive ones can also calibrate your printer by generating a printer profile.</p>

<p>Are you printing your own prints? What kind of paper are you using, proper quality glossy coated paper intended for photos? It really does make a difference. </p>