amount of light on the subject, a backlight and nothing else. My question is,

if the light pointed on the subject is equal to the amount of light from a

projector, how long should I keep the shutter open on a roll of 120 at 400

speed?

I'll be experimenting with a holga soon, but I'd like to pose this question

before burning too much film. Process and contacts are 12.00 at the cheapest in

NY (although the quality is great!) so any advice before my trial run is

appreciated!

I'm new to photo.net forums, welcome me with some handy answers :)

(or demand more information from me if you need it!)

That is a very hard question to answer for two reasons. Firstly we do not know how bright the subject is going to be. Projectors vary very much in power and the distance from the projector to the subject is going to impact the amount of light as well. The other problem is that we do not know what type of film you are using. Different brands will have different reciprocity characteristics.

My best advice, assuming that you don't have a light meter, would be to read Fred Parkers guide to estimating exposure http://www.fredparker.com/ultexp1.htm then hit google looking for a reciprocity chart for the film you are planning on using.

Good luck.

Thanks for the response.

I have a few ideas that I would like some input on. Say I set up a regular 35mm camera next to my Holga (yes yes, I realize the Holga is but a toy, but I desire its effects and unpredictably in the end result). I set the 35mm on the film speed which is loaded in the Holga.

If I set up the shot similarly in both cameras, will the 35mm light meter give me enough insight on an estimate exposure time for the 120 film? You're right in assuming that I don't have a light meter - its not that I don't take photography seriously, just that money is pretty tight right now, and only going to get worse...which is why I want as much insight on this as possible before shooting blind, basically.