High Key Studio Lighting

jennifer_g2

<p>Hi! I'm setting up a studio in my home I'm new with indoor photography and need help! <br>

I'm trying to set up "high key" studio lighting.<br>

I 've already purchased an Alienbee with a softlighter for my main light..I was told I also need 2 JTL 160's for side lights.<br>

The Question I have is I have a Hot Shoe adapter to plug in the Alien Bee Sync cord. But both of these JTL's are also strobe lights not continuous.<br>

How do I hook up all 3 lights to my camera? Surely I can't have all those cords hanging from my camera while I'm shooting a Toddler?<br>

Would I need a Transmitter/Receiver ? If so Would I need 3? how exactly does that work?<br>

Thanks for any help I can get on this! I'm trying to buy all the the things I need just not exactly sure what to buy.<br>

Also Please Dumm your answers down for me a bit as I'm still very new with indoor photography! Thanks!</p>

<p>Hi Jennifer,</p>

<p>I looked over the specs of your two lights, Alien and JTL: both have slave units. You just need to fire one light and the rest will pop. For wireless lighting, use a hot shoe connector to just one of your lights. No sync cord required. You can buy them for as little as $35. Call B and H in new york: I forgot what you call these units.</p>

<p>Thanks Chris I appreciate the help!</p>

<p>Nathan no offense taken :) I bought an e-book from a photographer that takes amazing high key photos! and she has learned things thru trial and error these are what she uses and swears by them ..so these are what i was told to buy in the book.<br>

Allthough how to hook them up is not included in the book! lol<br>

I know i sound uneducated in this area but thats because I am :) but I learn super fast~ So hopefully I'll be able to help others soon!</p>

<p>jenn</p>

<p>I agree that one wireless trigger is all you will need. Or one cord to fire one flash and the others will fire in slave. </p>