Help with selecting a different camera

tony_estcourt

Ive been using a Wista 45SW for a couple of years now, it was my

first 5x4 camera and generally Ive been pleased with the results. As

expected it took some time getting into the swing (pardon the pun)

of using the thing, however a couple of handling problems just wont

go away and its enough to make me plan an upgrade for some time in

the future (in the next 10 years!).

Firstly viewing on the g/glass screen, Ive used dark-cloths and

various items from the wardrobe, Ive now settled on a large pair of

boxer shorts which I've found are the best solution. My ideal camera

would be one which accepted a fold-away screen similar to the toyo.

Wista make one but I dont think my model has the necessary back

fittings to accept it.

Secondly the front standard, when tilting is hinged at the base and

for speed my ideal camera would have on-axis tilts.

Does anyone have any recommendations on what other models to look

at? The Toyo field cameras look OK but I'm unsure whether they offer

on-axis front tilt.

I own and would highly recommend the Ebony 45S. The ground glass is bright and you can purchase an optional bellows focusing hood (see http://www.ebonycamera.com/acc.html) and toss the boxer shorts. Both the front and rear standards are on-axis. The camera is quite rigid, has extensive front and back movements, and accepts lenses from extreme wide angle to the Fujinon 400 telephoto without having to change bellows. And the mahogany version weighs less than 4 pounds, making it ideal for a field kit.

Believe it or not, the so-called axis front tilt may not be appreciably faster than a base tilt, because the axis of tilt will probably not go exactly through the optical axis of your lens. So you will still have to refocus, only just a smaller amount.