Help with Macro setup using Nikon D200

pete_appleby

I'm fairly new to macro photography and wondered if anyone could comment or

improve my current setup. I'm getting some pretty good results but struggling a bit

to get more of the subject in focus.

1. Lens used - Tamron SP DI 90mm 2.8 macro

2. Mainly shoot RAW and keep aperture in the F11-F16 range (anything higher

and I'm getting towards defraction.

3. Use tripod with cable release & Mirror Up to avoid camera shake

4. ISO is usually in the 100-400 range, depending on light available

My issue is, anything bigger than say a bee, and I struggle to get everything in

focus, even with a higher F-stop.

Also, any tips on which metering mode to use with Macro? At the moment I'm

flitting between Matrix & Spot, as I've heard centre weighted isn't that great on the

D200.

any help much appreciated.<div>00Pqis-49663784.thumb.jpg.62bb26483aad5f0646a0da7bad0ddae8.jpg</div>

Hi Pete

<p>

It sounds like you're doing most things right. Matrix metering will be fine but it can still be fooled if you're subject has a particularly unusual tonal range - it's something you get a feel for with experience. Fill-in flash can be very useful for some subjects as it helps to create more even lighting, but be aware that some shiny, reflective subjects may look unnatural when flash is used.

<p>

As far as focusing is concerned, at close working distances, depth of field becomes very small and to avoid diffraction, you're pretty much limited to the apertures you mention. To get around this, you have three main options.

<p>

For completely static subjects, you can take a sequence of images, moving the plain of focus slightly each time. You then have to create a composite image by merging your sequence to produce a final picture with a wider in-focus area than could have been possible normally. I've never done this myself and others will no doubt be able to provide more advice and information on this technique.

<p>