Help! The lighting is all wrong!

sunny_snook

I am new at photography and am not trained. I began taking pics at weddings

for friends and have done alright. I had a wedding this weekend indoors and

when I looked at the screen, the images looked great. When I downloaded, the

lighting was horribly off and grainy. Please help me correct these. I am

trying to use Photoshop elements 2 and what I have done doesn't seem all that

great!<div>00LtXb-37502784.thumb.JPG.801a0b0528575dfc7065ffd999692214.JPG</div>

LCDs aren't a guaranteed proofing tool. :)

Check the brightness of your LCD. It could be that it's set too high, and that while you see

a well-exposed image on the LCD, you're actually under-exposing. (Some LCDs read

brighter than others.)

What was your ISO on this shot? A high ISO will create this type of grain.

You'll also get softer images like this by shooting with cheaper lenses.

In the future, refer to your camera's histogram to confirm that you're getting the exposure

you want.

I agree with Anne - change the brightness of your LCD. You don't say which camera you are using. If it is Nikon, they traditionally underexpose. However that can be a good thing. More exposure in your original and the highlights in the dress would be blown out and lost. At least with the image underexposed, you can post process to hold the detail in the highlights while bringing up the shadows. In Photoshop CS2 this can be done through image>adjustments>shadow/highlight. Not sure if this is available in Elements.

What I see more than exposure is poor lighting - top and behind. I would highly recommend off camera bounce flash to solve this situation.

I just did a 30 sec adjustment using the CS2 method I described. Your images can be corrected, and then the situation avoided in the future.

Shooting in Program mode means you were using your flash on auto/TTL/ETTL. It's

automatically going to underexpose in order to avoid blowing out the dress. An off-camera