Help please, 'should I invest in a new camera, or a new lens'?

ron_brown6

<p>I have a Canon 400D, that I have had since brand new, and I am ready to move up to something newer/more advanced. I am not a professional, but I do shoot as often as possible, so I am pretty fair for an amateur. I mostly shoot people, but also do general photography, inside in a studio and outside on location.<br>

My question is this; "If I can afford one or the other, should I invest in a new camera, or a new lens"? I'm wanting either a Canon 5D Mark II, or a premium lens, like a 50 or 85mm 1.2. I have a 24-105mm IS USM that I use for a general walk-around lens, so that is why I'm wanting a new prime lens.<br>

I'm wanting a good fast lens that will take good crisp shots of people, and even though my 400D takes good photos, and I know I can put a new lens on it, I don't want to spend that much on a new lens, and end up having more lens then I should for a camera of the size I have. I hope that makes sense.<br>

Any help or advice would truly be appreciated. </p>

<p>Leaving aside the issues about "what is it about your current gear that doesn't meet your needs", and assuming that you have been through that exercise, my feeling is that, if it were me, I'd have more fun putting a 24-105 on a 5DII while saving for a 85/1.2, than I would with the 85 on a 400D. The 400D is a pretty venerable camera now.<br>

<br />My opinion only, of course, and I should say that I am still using a 350D with a 24-105 as my general lens! Maybe the 7DII/70D will be my watershed...</p>

<p>I have a 24 to 105 and a 5DMKII and I also use a 400D.<br />I also can categorically state that would have more fun with the 24 to 105 on the 5DMkII than either a 50/1.2 or an 85/1.2 (and the 24 to 105) on a 400D – (although I own neither of those Prime Lenses but do have both the 50/1.4 and 85/1.8).</p>