to purchase.

I am an advanced amateur, and am concerned about lens clarity, lens

build and obviously glass quality. I cannot afford f/2.8 lenses at

this time (I'll step up later), but could use some suggestions on

what to buy. I'd prefer 2-3 lenses in my bag, covering 24/28mm

through 300mm.

Your comments are welcome and critical.

Thanks.

Nikon F1.8 AFD 50mm lens is fast, great quality, and very reasonably priced. I don't think many will disagree that this is a good place to start.

I like the 24-85mm AFS zoom. I've had good results, and the fast focusing is a plus. If I'm taking three lenses with me, I'm typically taking that one, my 75-300mm AF ED Nikon and my 18-35mm AF ED Nikon. The later two are inexpensive ways to get wide and telephoto with flexibility and less money. However, I admit that I get better quality with my 135mm, 180mm, 200mm, and 300mm Nikons, all manual focus primes. The manual focus primes seem to have the best build quality out of any of my Nikon lenses. The 75-300mm AF ED is good enough for me for travel applications when I don't have a lot of room or time to mess with the heavier primes. I'd rather get the shot with the 75-300mm than miss it because I didn't have time to change from the 300mm down to the 135mm. I should warn that I think some people are disapointed with the 75-300mm AF ED.

My impression is that if you want good build quality from Nikon's zooms, you have to get the pro stuff (fixed F2.8). The primes will tend to be of better build quality. Most of my manual prime lenses seem to have really good build quality, are heavy, and are of the best optical quality. As for the consumer zooms, sure probably not as good of build quality, but I haven't broken one yet. They do fine for me.

Greg,

First thing, do you use or plan to use either Manual or Aperture Priority mode? If so, forget any of the G lenses. They lack an aperture ring and are only useable in the various Program modes and Shutter Priority.