Help needed with Lens selection for 10D

f1-fanatic

Hello all,

I am looking for a longer lens to accompany my 28-135 f/3.5-5.6 IS.

I am new to photography (especially digital) and will be shooting

everything from air shows and Formula One ( F1 ) races to boats and

lighthouses. I know this is a bit general but I think the 135mm

might be a bit short and cannot see spending $6,500 on the 400mm

f/2.8 until I get a bit more experienced and can afford the funds

required to purchase it. Having said that, can anyone lend some

advice as to what lenses to look at??? Furthermore what is the

general consensus regarding an f/stop of 2.8 for this type of

shooting? Would the 4.0 serve my needs? Should I look at a shorter

(but high quality) lens such as the 70-200mm 2.8?

Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

-Norman

<a href="http://www.bobatkins.com/photography/digital/10d300dlenses.html">http://www.bobatkins.com/photography/digital/10d300dlenses.html</a>

<p>

How much money do you have and how long a lens do you need?

<p>

The 70-200/4L is a great lens for under $600 if you don't need more than 200mm, but it doesn't have IS. You can use a 1.4x TC on it to get 280mm at f5.6. You can get the f2.8 version with IS, but you'll pay and extra $1000 for it and you'll have a larger, heavier lens.

<p>

The 100-400/4.5-5.6L IS is pretty good if you want something in a long zoom with IS, but it's pretty big and bulky and priced around $1300.

<p>

The new <a href="http://www.bobatkins.com/photography/reviews/28-300-70-300.html#do">70-300/4.5-5.6DO IS</a> is about the same size and shape as your 28-135, is supposed to be very sharp, but costs $1299.

<p>