Help me switch to digital!!!

sharon_bertke

Hi,

I have been using my film Pentax ZX-7 with a Promaster 28-200 zoom lens for the

last 6yrs and I really love this camera. (Never use the manual settings though.)

Great quality photo's and would not be happy with any less of a zoom than I have

now. I have children just getting into sports and am using my camera less and

less, because of the inability of viewing my pics. I feel like I am missing out on so

many memories because of this.

I've been putting off buying a new camera only because I'm not good at

researching things and I'm just now learning how to use the internet (which I'm still

struggling with. Consuming so much of my time.) I just hope I can get this

question sent properly and hope I can figure out how to retrieve an answer - where

to go to get it.

Will someone please tell me if my l can use my current lens and what D-SLR

body to purchase. I would greatly appreciate any input!! Thank you so much!

Sharon B.

You will have no problem using your 28-200mm zoom on a new digital SLR. If you

are used to the scene modes of the ZX-7 (which I never use), then a K200 will

probably be most comfortable to you. You will notice that the digital SLRs have a

sensor that is smaller than a 35mm frame of film, so the field of view will be cropped

so that your 28-200mm will look like a 42-300mm. For sports that is good, but if you

use the wide end of the lens much, you might miss being able to squeeze

everything in like before. For $100 or less, getting the 18-55mm 'kit' lens may be

worth while as 18mm on digital will look similar to 28mm on film. Perhaps replacing

the 28-200mm with the 18-250mm down the road can save you some lens swapping.

Of course, if you want to spend a little more money there are quite a few other lens

options available too. You can gain some image quality and lower light capabilities

by going with some glass that has a shorter zoom range.