Help I'm new to Rollei - Xenotar, Tessar, Xenar, Planar?

joe_lacy

I've read through the threads and there is mention of Xenotar vs

Planar but no mention of Tessar and Xenar? Why?

Are the Tessar & Xenar's on the same level as the Xenotar vs Planar

with no REAL differences in sharpness?

Tessar=Xenar

Planar=Xenotar

Typically what are the price points of equal condition bodies with

these lenses.

Thanks for helping, I bought my first Rollei today and now wondering

if I bought the wrong thing.

Joe (a Pentax 645 guy)

I'm certainly not an expert on the subject, but this is what I've found. The Zeiss Planar is the "crown jewel" of the Rollei lenses; it's one of the sharpest lenses you'll ever lay hands on. The Xenotar is a copy that is said to be the Planar's near equal or is slightly superior, depending on who you to talk to. The Schnieder Xenotar is a great lens but probably has a bit looser quality control than the Zeiss.

The Tessar is the lower cost consumer lens from Zeiss; it has fewer elements and isn't as sharp as the Planar, but stopped down, it's still a tack sharp lens (say @ f8 or better). Ditto for the Xenar (the Schneider equiv. of the Tessar).

I own a 125$, 1953 Rolleicord IV with a Xenar; this camera with it's "modest" lens is capable of stunning results if used properly (lens hood used to reduce flare and stopped down to sharpen things up). No matter what lens you have, I think you'll find that used properly, you'll be able to astound yourself.

Douglas M. Elick