Help for a newcomer to the olympus om family!

ry_prosser

Hi all, I've really tried to search before asking this but couldn't quite find anyone who described the same problem. I'm new to film and chose the om2n because of some great reviews on here and other sites.

I purchased one that had been sitting around for a while but was in superb condition. I changed the light seals as the foam had corroded and also removed foam from prism and cleaned the viewfinder which is still a little dim but perhaps that's more to do with the focus sceeen....

Anyway, whilst shooting I noticed that on a few occasions I would fully push the advance lever only to press the shutter button and find it locked. I'd have to push the advance lever again and could feel it move another notch or two which then fully engaged the shutter release.

Is this a regular occurance for my model or is there something I can adjust do you think? Would I have nudged anything when taking the top plate off? I was very careful not to.

Hope someone can help! Apart from that minor annoyance the camera is superb!

It is a terrific camera. I've never noticed the issue you cited in any of the 3 bodies I've owned. Perhaps you didn't fully advance the film lever in the first place hesitating at some film resistance, which would certainly lock the shutter. I'd try it several times when you have the camera empty, perhaps while you are watching TV...and loosen up what may be dried up lubricants. As far as the viewfinder being anything less than brilliantly bright, I'd have a concern there, as the vf on the OM2n is usually exceptional in brightness. The screens are interchangeable, as I recall there are 14 variations, so you might check the user manual to ensure you have the correct one for the lenses you are using.