mrs_h

Equipment: Canon G2 and zoombrowser on my computer. Memory card is same age as

computer.

I'm a beginner.

Camera worked fine last week.

Yesterday I filled up my memory card and 4 hours later I started deleting some

photos. After deleting 4 of them the LCD flashed "CF card error." I stopped,

turn the camera on to take 4 new pictures, but the camera read zero shots

left. I should have had 4 from the ones I deleted.

When I got home and tried to download the pictures, I got a message box that

said "no memory card, insert...."

a. how do I get the pictures out of the camera and into the computer? Is there

a way just using the computer? If there is does that "empty" the memory card

and I can't try anything else if it doesn't work?

b. What possible things could have happened to cause a CF card error reading?

c. what possible things would cause the camera to read full and the computer

to tell me there was no memory card in the camera?

Thanks,

Mrs. H.

Hi mrs H,

I Posted a similar problem before, the difference is , I used a 350d with a 3 month old Lexar cf card. That card was then replaced by the store , under warranty, but prior to that, the card was tested by me and by the store on several computers and cameras, and it still cant be read.

I think your card is defective already. no software can rescue the images on your card, cause the softwares that the recover the images , work only on a non defective card. but , if someone here knew better, correct me , if I'm wrong.

I think replacement of card is neccessary.

By the way, May we know the brand and model of your card?

Hi Mrs H

What brand of CF card were you using?

Did you try and take out the CF card when it was deleting?

In answering question b, anything like exposure to heat etc can damage the card. So, if its heat affected from the sun,then you have pretty much damaged the card... (something like when you damage film to sun and the images come out magenta).