Help, -2 diopter on my Hasselblad, can this affect focus? Help with identifyng split screen.

mati

Hello there,

I had my Hasselblad 500 cm for a while and it seems my focus is not always reliable. At times I have it, other times I miss it. I am not sure if it is a matter of me moving the camera or if I am just missing the focus. I just noticed I have a -2 written next to the diopter. Could this affect focus? Also, I am not sure which kind of split-screen I have. Attached photograph.

IMG-6901.jpg

Would you say that changing the diopter and the screen could improve my situation? I know that there are also prisms, but I am really new at this and just always used what it came with my Hasselblad. I know many people suggest ACUTE Matte D, but it would be great starting with identifying my screen!

Thank you so much!

That looks like a 42188 split screen pre Acute Matte, but could also be an aftermarket. They never made an Acute Matte with split screen only (at least I've never seen one listed).

Are your images consistently front or back focused? I have an aftermarket Brightscreen that consistently back focuses (ie: not in spec).

-2 diopter is typically for people that are slightly near sighted. Can you see the marks on the screen (ie: the edge of the split image semi circles) clearly. Try pushing the magnifier in slightly to see if the screen becomes clearer. Depending on your eye sight, you might be better off with a different diopter. "0" or neutral diopter was stock, and placed the screen to appear at infinity. -1 diopter placed the screen at 1m. I'm slightly near sighted, so I use a -1.

Edited by tom_chow
  • Like 1
"Manfred, there is a design problem with that camera...every time you drop it that pin breaks"