"Heer Leica"

patric_dahl_n

I'm no expert, although it doesn't stink like a FED that seller offers sending more information, further pictures and even fondling the camera while the auction is up.

So I'd ask him for a cam follower close up picture, RM allignment, smoothness of the lens' rings and the rest of the whole cataloque.

Talking common sense: He doesn't seem to be a shutterbug himself and asks for enough money to get me a fine M2 beater, so according to his non existant return policy he should work. I'm reasonable and avaricious enough to torture even those, who put up a FED or Leningrad, with lengthy questionaires and ended often enough deciding "no thank you", if the result the results indicated the offered item was another fishy, sticky, beater far from "ready to shoot". - I collect cameras not paper weights! (although I have pelenty of both)

If I was into living history WW 2, a FED would take good enough pics of my comrades. If I felt a urge to collect Barnacks, I'd either play a US guy allowed to carry one (have there been some with cheaper guns than Patton's?) Or ask my local silkscreen print shop for a little favour... I buy army surplus to save and not to burn $$.

The top of the viewfinder window is level with the top surface - Not what you would find on a

Leica. And, the vulcanite covering looks suspiciously like thin vinyl, not the thick rubbery

cover of vulcanite. Vulcanite would crack or separate from the body but not peel back. Also,

notice the lens cap, with sharp white printed lettering, unlike genuine Leica caps.

Absolutely right.

And look at the crudeness of the top cover - the early Leica II was a bit lumpy looking but that had a semicircular shape under the speed dial (it didn't then have to accommodate the slow-speed mechanism). The arrows on the winders are too thin. The small r/h rangefinder window - again the II had small windows, but not that small.