<p>Hi,<br>

I'm try to solve an old my problem. I'm a photographer, mainly sport photographer, and I'm using a Mac system with a lot of external disk where I store all photos (3 disk firewire 800 with total 2Tb more or less) and other USB 2 disk used only for backup. But the storage space is never enough so I would avoid to buy an other disk and an other. I'm check some other solutions like NAS or similar. Do you think that a NAS could be a good idea and which kind of NAS could better considering my use and considering that I'm reading my photos using Lightroom (sometimes also Aperture).<br>

Thanks for your kindly help</p>

<p>NAS could be slower than directly mountable USB or firewire drive.</p>

<p>Also some NAS solutions use a propriatory hard disc formatting. (E.g. Linksys NAS200) When the unit fails, you would normally remove one or both discs and use it in another disc enclosure, and recover the contents. This is not the case with some NAS. Disc full of your pictures and videos will not be recognoized by your system that would be expecting any FAT, FAT32, NTFS, etc, since the disc was formatted in the NAS device by a different format. The only recovery would be to purchase another NAS device of the same type and recover the files there.</p>

<p>A bit less popular but seems faster solution is if you have a desktop and you can insert a card with eSATA ports, and use external SATA drives. If you have a laptop with Express34 card, you can also get plugin card with eSATA interface. Providing that your computer Express34 port is NOT implemented internally on an internal USB bus, killing the purpose of fast Express34 and the SATA.</p>

<p>Then the USB 3.0 on Express34 implementation and a USB 3.0 would be the latest and fastest technology. I believe one vendor offers USB 3.0 external hard drives already. This could be the promissed future for photographers ?</p>