Having Major Trouble

brooke_eaton1

<p>I'm pretty new to wedding photography and I would not call myself a professional, but I do have some experience. Here are my problems and I need to know if it is my equipment or myself. Im shooting with a Canon Digital Rebel XTi, a Canon 24-70mm f/2.8L USM, and a Canon Speedlite 430x. 90% of the time my photos have a REALLY soft look to them, never crisp. I have to do A LOT of post shooting editing in photoshop and still do not get what Im expecting, and when I use my flash everything looks REALLY washed out. I even bounce the light and use a Gary Fong Diffuser.<br />Im also having a color issue indoors. I will post a pre and post photoshop photo.</p><div>00S6YW-105083784.thumb.jpg.63aa22c41aefb81334701256265b5d1c.jpg</div>

• Replies 126
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

<p>Yep, agree with David--front focused. Too wide an aperture to use without extremely careful focusing, particularly for formals--specs were ISO 400 1/50th, f2.8--focus on Mom's sleeve is OK. This is for this picture. For the rest of it, probably a combination of flaky focusing from auto focus systems, possibly from the 24-70mm, which has kind of a reputation for misfocusing, motion or hand holding blur.</p>

<p>Flash is OK on this shot. You need to show what you mean by washed out--do you mean overexposed?</p>

<p>Ok. Maybe its my computer then. I have a labtop and I think that everything looks soft when Im editing. I was thinking about upgraded my camera body?? As far as the color...Im using the white balance features on the camera and never auto white balance. This picture was in a gym and I had it set to white fluorescent. And again, I think it look blurry.</p>