hassie planar 80 vs rolleiflex planar 80

karl_keung

I have been using Hasselblads for more than 30 years. Obviously I am happy with them!

Many years ago, (maybe15) my dealer dropped a Rollei outfit in my car for the W/E and said: "go compare". I did. I set up all the hard shots, lighting wise that I could devise and shot them on C/T on both outfits. I then put the film into the lab (pre. self processing) and invited the dealer to collect the film on my behalf. Easch of the staff members at the dealer bet me $50 that the Rollei lens would outshoot the Blad, because of the difference in coating, they claimed. Now I was prepared to be convinced as I was ready to upgrade my gear. I believed they would perform equally well as they are the same lens out of the same factory.

They called me triumphantly to declare that indeed one film indicated better flare control than the other. Obviously, it was the one exposed with the Rollei lens, thay declared, because that is what they predicted.

I went to their showroom and beheld the evidence. They were right. One film did look better! They all put their hand out for the $50 each I owed them. I called for a lupe. I examined the frame edge of the better film and found the tell tale "two notches" of the Hasselblad 'signature'.

I kept my Blad outfit. I still have it today. I never got the $50 x4 reps though!

Sorry about the long story, but I reckon it is worth repeating. BTW, I reckon Rollei is great stuff and would never hesitate to use it if I needed. I just prefer the ergonomics of the Hasselblad. Purely personal.

Karl, if you are trying to choose between Blad and Rollei, you will need to separate them on something other than the lens in reality. Both are very good.

Cheers,