Hasselblad Cameras.

<p>I am just a amature photographer, so see my following comments and questions as typical rambling from a amature.</p>

<p>So tell me, why are Hasselblad cameras around 30K? I assume these cameras are for either professionals that make the cash to be able to afford them or rich people that can afford to spend tens of thousands of dollars on pretty toys.<br />I look at these cameras and think, "Looks like the Bentley of cameras", but is there really something about these cameras that owners believe they are worth every penny?</p>

<p>With that kind of money I could afford a Canon Mark3 and outfit a spare bedroom into a digital darkroom.</p>

<p>Educate a amature please...lol.<br />T.</p>

<p>Sure...<br>

These aren't "the Bentley of cameras," they're the Mack Truck of cameras and are meant for people who shoot for high-end offset reproduction with studio lighting. If your final output isn't the printed page and your needs are typically outside the studio, that Canon will almost certainly be better for you.<br>

There's another issue too; some aspects of professional photography pay very well and are highly competitive. In those situations, having the same or better files than the other photographers bidding on the same job will make a difference. Compared to the costs of having a staff and studio, some medium format gear isn't much at all.</p>

<p>As you correctly assume, digital medium format cameras are used by professionals and occasionally by well-heeled dilettantes. There are several factors which justify the cost.</p>