Hardening v non-hardening fixer (Kodak Unifix)

giverin

<p>I bought some photographic paper locally from a guy who was giving up his darkroom and getting rid of all his equipment. He kindly let me have a lot of stuff that he couldn't be bothered to advertise, things like tanks, reels, clips and contrast filters. He also gave me a load of fixer. A 5 litre bottle of Ilford Hypam (which is the fixer I normally use) and a 5 litre bottle of Kodak Unifix, which I had never heard of.</p>

<p>A bit of research shows that this is a hardening fixer. I'm still a bit of a novice and I don't really understand the difference. I know that most rapid fixer is non hardening. I assume that hardening fixer makes the negative less likely to damage and I assume the downside is a longer fixing time? What about using a hardening fixer for fixing prints? I would like to make use of this Kodak stuff if possible. I'm assuming that shelf life isn't too much of an issue for fixer if still in concentrate form?</p>

<p>You're right. It does make the neg tougher but fixing and washing times increase. I've never used hardening fixer because most modern films are tough enough. That said, some emulsions are rather fragile and might benefit from a hardener. I use Ilford films almost exclusively, except for the odd roll of Fuji or Kodak, and I have never found the need to use a hardener.</p>

<p>You can use the hardening fixer with no problem. I used one for many years and never had a problem with it. I still keep some around for the occasional times when I might need it. The only real consideration is that your final wash times will be longer. What Ann says about toning prints is true. My observations indicate that the toning process takes longer and the color may be different than what you'd get had you used a non-hardening fixer.</p>