hairlight - photoshop

<p>im a portrait photographer and have noticed that something about my work looks a bit flat at times ... i've realized that i often dont add a touch of a hair light, or shoulder etc.<br>

ive done a portrait that i feel really needs that - is there a way to do this through photoshop ? im on CS3.</p>

<p>any help would be great.</p>

<p>thank you</p>

<p>have you played w/ Filter -> Render -> Lighting Effects?</p>

<p>you can also try to dupe the main layer, blend it w/ hard/soft light, mask all and then paint back in as you see fit.</p>

<p>There was an interesting Versace video where he took a pretty drab fashion image and re-lit it. Pretty amazing actually.</p>

<p>Hold down alt when you create a new layer. When the window pops up, select "soft light" as the blend mode and choose "fill with 50% gray." Now grab a soft brush and paint, on your new layer, with white to lighten and black to darken. Start with a low opacity-around 10%- and build up. Paint on highlights where you see fit. This is the common way to add structure to a face, bring out hairlights, etc. You can use this method for loads of stuff. Instead of painting with white, you can use the dodge and burn tool on your "soft light" layer, but it can take a bit of practice to get the feel of those tools. You can also use the "overlay" blend mode, but you'll have more of a color shift than you will with soft light. </p>

<p>Jen's technique above is very effective for creating a change in value, but it changes all the values you paint on, which can be problematic if it kills your blacks or blows your whites. A similar technique is to add an adjustment layer and paint on its mask with the aforementioned soft brush and varying blacks and whites, to say nothing of grays. (Note: "paint on the mask" means you click on the mask and paint on your image.) You can fill the whole mask with foreground or background color using ctl-Backspace or alt-Backspace.</p>