H4D-40 (H4D-50) and custom white balance

kevinbriggs

<p>In considering the possibility of purchasing the Hasselblad H4D-40, I was surprised to learn (by downloading the manual) that it is NOT possible to create a custom white balance setting by taking a test exposure (by using a third-party white balance device such as the <a href="http://www.expoimaging.com/product-overview.php?cat_id=1&keywords=ExpoDisc">ExpoDisc</a>).<br /><br />For those out there who do have this H4D-40 model, I just wanted to confirm that this was indeed the reality of the situation...?<br /><br />I certainly understand that when shooting in RAW mode (as I always do), the custom white balance setting does not affect the underlying RAW digital data of the photo file.<br /><br />However, as a landscape photographer, I find it invaluable to have the "perfectly calibrated," if you will, color temperature by using the ExpoDisc because of what it will display (in each photo) on the digital back. As I take each shot and look at what is produced by such a perfectly calibrated color temperature setting -- by viewing each individual photo on the digital back -- it is much easier to gauge what I need to do with each individual photo file in relation to the subtle tones and hues of each landscape photograph.<br /><br />Or stated more succinctly, when I drop the photo into Photoshop, I don't want to have to guess at the color temperature at the time I took the shot (maybe several days previously). I absolutely love the ExpoDisc's ability to gauge/calibrate the color temperature for me respective to each individual RAW photo file.<br /><br />I'm just sorry to learn (possibly) that if I did indeed end up purchasing the H4D-40, I would not be able to rely upon the ExpoDisc method.</p>

<p>You can select a colour temperature, either out of a limited choice of pre-selects, or (and that's the "manual" bit) by setting whatever one you want.<br>

But neither method will work like Kevin likes it to work.<br>