softlighting style was achieved. One of the posters stated it might

be a grid on a softbox and it turns out that a grid is just what was

used. I found a thread on another site in which the photographer

stated that was what he used. That photo apart, just how

useful/necessary is such a grid for product photography? I ask,

because I looked at the price of one for my Bowens Wafer 100

(Plume?) softbox only to find it costs more than the softbox. I am

therefore reluctant to pay out for something that may have only a

few uses (and really isn't much product for what your paying).

I'm new to product photography (and studio photography in general)

so I don't have much experience with regards to what is required

equipment wise.

I'm not interested in home-brew solutions to this. I'm quite willing

to pay if its something that is regarded as a neccesity for top

quality results.

Regards...

Steven

you would not want to put a grid on a soft box, it would not serve a purpose. A grid spot

is used to make the light in the center of the grid directional light and then feathers the

light to the edges .If you used a softbox it would defeat the purpose. Grid spots come in

different sizes to give you different looks in the photos. The larger the holes in the grid

the less effect the spot has , the smaller the holes the greater the effect. I use them on my

white lightnings to feather light on product shots or portraits.

There are several companies that manufacture softbox grids. Delta, Profoto, PhotoFlex and others. You can go to a site like the B&H website and type in a search for "softbox grids" and find quite a few examples.