Greetings from California Shutterbug

<p>Hi there! I just signed up for photo.net, and I wanted to take a minute to introduce myself. I'll try to keep it brief, but no guarantees.<br>

I immersed myself in photography in junior high, when I took a class in it in 7th and 8th grades. At that time I was introduced to SLRs, developed and printed my own B&W film (would set up my enlarger in the one family bathroom, with trays over the bathtub--so I had to make sure everybody had relieved their bladders before I got started!), and got my first "real camera"--an Olympus OM-1. When I got to high school, there were no more photo classes, so I was on my own.<br>

I started shooting more color film, but I never "graduated" to the point of developing my own...so I became dependent on sending off to lab. As I exited the darkroom, I started using point&shoot cameras--so my photographic skills started to erode. Then the move to digital point&shoots, and I spent the next decade or so shooting lots of mediocre shots of vacations.<br>

Then in 2012 my wife and I planned a trip to New Zealand, and in prep for that I decided I needed a DSLR. I ended up with a Canon EOS Rebel t3i. Got some extra lenses, some filters--and pretty soon I was running all over NZ getting back into my photo groove! After that, I found that there was a photo club in the town where I lived, so I joined. I have learned SO much from being in the club, and from participating in their exercises and photo assignments.<br>