Grand Canyon Lightweight Suggestions

thomas_lozinski

<p>Hiking Grand Canyon, South Kaibab to North Kaibab and back to Bright Angel. About 45 miles in 2 days. I'm training hard because I know it is going to be hard. Being a serious photographer I'm definitely bringing a camera, likely the D800E if it is released in time. I will likely bring my 28-80 kit lens (the lightest lens I have,) and a wide angle (possibly rokinon 14mm 2.8.) I don't think I can afford to carry the weight of a tripod. This will be in June. I'm reading everything that I can find in the forum but wanted to see if anyone has any suggestions for going seriously lightweight. I may be able to carry more depending on water availability. Lightweight CF tripod would probably be the first thing I'd grab.</p>

<p>What are you expecting the lighting to be like? (Just wondering how much you need the tripod.) I was last at Bright Angel with a D700, a 14-24 and a 150-500 (and a knackered knee). I don't recommend the knee or the 150-500, but I also found that 14mm is awfully wide - in that you need to get very near the edge if you want to get some foreground. My favourite shot was at 24mm (which is a shame, because that's where the 14-24 is weakest). It's also where I ran out of pixels trying to do a 40" print that replicated the field of view. I envy you the D800, although you'll be testing your lens choice. I might not rule out the idea of a small macro (60mm? 90mm?) in case you find anything small scale en route.<br />

<br />

That said, for mobility reasons, I didn't really hike anywhere except along the ridge. I doubt either a 14-24 or a 24mm f/1.4 is going to appeal too much. If everything is light, you could consider the piece-of-string-to-stand-on monopod approach - in fact a monopod in general is probably not a bad idea, because at least you can use it to help walk with. (I used one as a walking pole when I went up Snowdon.)<br />

<br />