GPA and Photojournalism

<p>So I am trying to find a college for photojounalism. I was pushed into college by my dad when I graduated High school. The only problem is I was pushed into Education and now I really want to go into photojournalism. Because I didn't want to go into education my GPA is barely passing and I have failed most of my classes at my current college. This is a field I have been looking into but I just couldn't afford and I know it sounds like I'm slacking on my school work but it was only the matter I had to do something that I didn't like and it caused me to fail. I do love photojournalism and I just need something to bring more of that out. <br>

So my question is, are there any good colleges out there for photojournalism that don't focus too much on your GPA but more on your portfolio?</p>

Even a university that place more emphasis on your portfolio than your GPA is going to be reluctant to admit someone with a barely-passing GPA and F's in most courses. If you want to improve your chances of getting accepted, you need to demonstrate that you are capable of handling the coursework involved. You might try taking courses related to photojournalism (photography, writing, media, etc.) at your current college in order to improve your background and demonstrate your abilities.<P>

Also, when writing an application letter or essay for another university, you absolutely do <b>not</b> want it to sound like your post in this thread. You don't come across as a victim of your father's tyranny who could thrive in another field. You come across as someone who won't accept the responsibility for the consequences of her own actions (or inaction) and who lacks the self-discipline to do anything other than what she enjoys doing. No major (and no job) is going to consist entirely of things that you enjoy doing or find interesting. Being competent at the stuff that's not interesting is just as important as being good at the stuff that is interesting.